University of Dar es salaam (UDSM) 2023/24

By | July 18, 2023

University of Dar es salaam (UDSM)

The University of Dar es Salaam (UDSM) is Tanzania’s oldest and leading public university. Situated 13 kilometers west of Dar es Salaam, it occupies 1,625 acres on the observation hill known as Mlimani. Established on October 25, 1961, as the University College Dar es Salaam (UCD), it became a constituent college of the University of East Africa in 1963. UDSM became a full-fledged university on July 1, 1970, and has since grown in terms of student intake, academic units, research capability, and programs.

UDSM offers a comprehensive range of academic programs, including certificates, diplomas, undergraduate and postgraduate degrees. It has two constituent colleges, the Dar es Salaam University College of Education and the Mkwawa University College of Education, along with campus colleges, schools, and institutes. The university focuses on research and postgraduate training, resulting in increased outputs and a rise in the number of postgraduate students graduating each year. Efforts have been made to increase the number of female students, who currently constitute 46% of the student body.

At its Golden Jubilee in 2011, UDSM introduced Vision 2061, emphasizing research and postgraduate training. The university has witnessed significant growth in the number of PhD graduates, with a mid-year graduation ceremony introduced in 2019. UDSM also offers scholarships for undergraduate and postgraduate students.

UDSM continues to attract a high number of applications, surpassing its current capacity.

Academic units

Constituent Colleges

  • Dar es Salaam University College of Education (DUCE)
  • Mkwawa University College of Education (MUCE)


  • College of Engineering and Technology (CoET)
  • College of Information and Communication Technologies (CoICT)
  • College of Natural and Applied Sciences (CoNAS)
  • College of Humanities (CoHU)
  • College of Social Sciences (CoSS)
  • College of Agricultural Sciences and Food Technology (CoAF)
  • University of Dar es Salaam-Mbeya College of Health and Allied Sciences (UDSM-MCHAS)


  • University of Dar es Salaam Business School (UDBS)
  • School of Education (SoED)
  • University of Dar es Salaam School of Law (UDSoL)
  • School of Journalism and Mass Communication (SJMC)
  • School of Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Technology (SoAF)
  • School of Mines and Geosciences (SoMG)
  • University of Dar es Salaam School of Economics (UDSoE)


  • Institute of Development Studies (IDS)
  • Institute of Kiswahili Studies (IKS)
  • Institute of Resource Assessment (IRA)
  • Institute of Marine Sciences (IMS)
  • Confucius Institute (CI)
  • Institute of Gender Studies (IGS)
  • Mineral Resources Institute (MRI)


  • African Centre of Excellence for Sustainable Operations in Resource Management and Food Supply (ACESO)
  • Society and Religion Research Centre(SORRECE)
  • Centre for Virtual Learning (CVL)
  • University Of Dar es Salaam Computing Centre (UCC)
  • Humanities Research Centre (HRC)
  • Centre for Climate Change Studies (CCCS)
  • Centre for Entrepreneurship Development (CED)
  • Centre for Behavioural Studies(CBS)
  • Centre for Communication Studies (CCS)
  • Korean Studies Center (KSC)
  • Centre for Educational Research and Professional Development (CERPD)
  • Technology Development and Transfer Center (TDTC)
  • Research and Education for Democracy in Tanzania (REDET)
  • Centre for Chinese Studies