Difference between ZIMSEC and Cambridge

By | September 5, 2023

What is difference between ZIMSEC and Cambridge

ZIMSEC Advanced Level and Cambridge A-Levels are both post-secondary qualifications that are recognized and respected globally. However, there are some differences between the two. Here are some of the main differences:


The curriculum for ZIMSEC Advanced Level is designed and developed by the Zimbabwe School Examinations Council (ZIMSEC), while the curriculum for Cambridge A-Levels is designed and developed by the University of Cambridge Local Examinations Syndicate (UCLES).


ZIMSEC Advanced Level is assessed through a combination of written exams and coursework, while Cambridge A-Levels are assessed solely through written exams.


ZIMSEC Advanced Level typically takes two years to complete, while Cambridge A-Levels take one year to complete.


ZIMSEC Advanced Level carries 24 credits, while Cambridge A-Levels carry 40 credits.


Both ZIMSEC Advanced Level and Cambridge A-Levels are recognized and respected globally, but Cambridge A-Levels are more widely recognized and accepted by universities in the UK and other English-speaking countries.


The cost of studying for ZIMSEC Advanced Level is generally lower than the cost of studying for Cambridge A-Levels.

Teaching Methods

ZIMSEC Advanced Level uses a more traditional teaching method, while Cambridge A-Levels use a more flexible and self-directed approach.


Cambridge A-Levels offer more support to students, including online resources, study guides, and practice exams.

Language of Instruction

ZIMSEC Advanced Level is taught in English, while Cambridge A-Levels can be taught in a variety of languages, including English, Spanish, French, and Mandarin.

In conclusion, while both ZIMSEC Advanced Level and Cambridge A-Levels are high-quality post-secondary qualifications, there are some key differences between the two. Students should carefully consider these factors when deciding which program to pursue.